Frank Broeze Prize for the Outstanding Doctoral Thesis in Maritime History

International Maritime Economic History Association, St. John’s, Nfld. (Canada)
Bewerbungsschluss/Deadline: 01.09.2011

International Maritime Economic History Association

Frank Broeze Prize for the Outstanding Doctoral Thesis in Maritime History

Professor Frank Broeze was one of the leading maritime historians of his generation. In his honour, the International Maritime Economic History Association has instituted the Frank Broeze Prize to be awarded to the author of a doctoral thesis which, in the opinion of the panel, makes the most outstanding contribution to the study of maritime history. As befitting Frank’s visionary approach to the field, maritime history encompasses all aspects of the historical interaction of human societies and the sea. The panel of judges will therefore consider works that focus on the maritime dimensions of economic, social, cultural, political, technological and environmental history.

The Frank Broeze Prize carries with it a cash award of 500 Euros and free registration at the Sixth International Congress of Maritime History in Ghent, Belgium, 2-6 July 2012. To be considered for this prestigious award, those who have been awarded a doctorate between 1 September 2007 and 31 August 2011 are invited to submit a copy of their thesis for consideration. If the thesis is written in a language other than English, the entrant should provide a summary of their work (minimum 10,000 words) in English.

The judges will apply the following criteria in deciding the winner of the prize:

  • contribution to knowledge and understanding of the maritime past;
  • originality of approach, source material and/or findings;
  • depth and coherence of argument;
  • choice and application of methodology;
  • and presentational and stylistic quality.

Eligible candidates should submit their entries, including a letter of support from their supervisor, via e-mail attachment to each of the panel members no later than 1 September 2011. The winner will be notified early in 2012, and the prize will be awarded at the Ghent Congress.

For this competition, there will be a panel of six judges:

Lewis R. Fischer (Memorial University of Newfoundland),
Maria Fusaro (University of Exeter);
Gelina Harlaftis (Ionian University),
Ingo Heidbrink (Old Dominion University);
David J. Starkey (University of Hull),
Jesús M. Valdaliso (Univ. of the Basque Country),

Homepage <>

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.